erasmus · personal · Travel

When you start to have an Erasmus family -La vida Erasmus, La vida mejor Part VI

Two months after my Erasmus life started, there were a few things that I noticed – I wasn’t making any new friends any  faster.

I was never, except when I was little, very good at making friends – I had always been so socially awkward and except in the cases where alcohol was involved, I had no idea how to interact with other people. My anxiety wasn’t any helper with that and the fact that I wasn’t managing very well the language was another no helper.

Two months later, in the middle of March, I had started to make new, actual friends. I had mentioned them in an earlier post and our friendship only grew stronger. I wasn’t good at talking with them, I wasn’t good at actual connecting with them, but they accepted me – I told them a few things that I cared about, that I liked and I realised that, the less I spoke, the more people liked me. The more of a mysterious character I was passing. It wasn’t on purpose  – I just didn’t spoke literally because I wasn’t very good with my Spanish.

But they accepted me, exactly like I was. There were only two people like that Portugal – my boyfriend and Paty, my best friend. These people were starting to feel like my family and my friends were getting behind because they weren’t even trying – no matter how much I tried to speak with them.

Those people, that I had met and that I would meet, would become my Erasmus family.

One thought on “When you start to have an Erasmus family -La vida Erasmus, La vida mejor Part VI

Leave a Reply

