Opinion/Review · series

The OA – A disappointment, but a beautiful disappointment

I finished watching “The OA” the new Netflix original serie this dawn and let me tell – it was a really nice ride up until the end.

The pilot was really well made in my opinion – it was well paced, had everything to captivate any type of public and that little touch of presenting the title pratically in the end was really nice.

(WARNING- THIS POST IS NOT SPOILER-FREE!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED)

I enjoyed the serie in all its seven episodes. I was really digging the whole fiction/fantasy mix of it – I loved “Strangers Things” after all (I will write about it later on another post) and I thought “Hey! Hope this will be a mix that will begin to be more popular!” (Heavens know how much I love fiction and fantasy mixed up). But the last episode…. Well, we will be getting on that.

The OA build up things pretty nicely – it made the watchers jump right to the action. We meet Prairie, apparentlty a blind girl that isn’t blind anymore, who tried to jump off a bridge (why we don’t know. And guess what? We will never – can theorize it, but not really know). That made it a good start and made me want to see more and more.

The next episodes, after she manages to get the five people she needs and starts telling the story, were also well placed but I noticed some errors – Prairie (or OA) – is the narrator, we are seeing everything that she knows – then why are we seeing some things in Hap point of view? Bad writing from the writers or a hint for what was to come?

I don’t mind some types of shots like when we first meet Hap (or his back at least). Prairie could very well imagine what he was doing. But after that, everytime Hap shows up, it’s obvious that is not imagination – she shouldn’t know what he was doing when she wasn’t there, she should only know what she saw or what people would tell her (like when Homer tried tolive the experiment wide awake). She shouldn’t know who the heck was Leon and I very much doubt that Hap would tell her about him. SO yes, in those scenes, my feeling of “something isn’t right here…” started to go off.

Side note – I didn’t like her mom’s personality at all, it was a character that I sure as hell couldn’t get myself to like – and I loved the character exactly because of that. Nancy Johnson was the most flawed character in the series, the one with the personality that I genuinely despised and I loved the fact that she existed. I don’t like series where we like everyone. I like series with well-written characters (like I hate Cersei in Game of Thrones, but love how her character is written, as well with many others characters created by Martin honestly). I know that many things were created because of Nancy – for heavens sake woman, why did you hide that she had left a note?! Ain’t that selfish?!) 

Abel, on the other hand, was someone who I could connect with and I know he tried his hardest- not enough, but he did. He tried to do what was best and even though he should have been more assertive in his decisions, I couldn’t 100% hate him.

By the end of episode seven I was hooked to the series because I wanted to know what would happen, adding to the fact that the relationship between the characters was so well written and I was so content with that. The whole friendship that aroused in the five and the little romance with Prairie and Homer was sweet and realistic. I can live without romance but I can’t live with rushed, badly written romance. Homer and Prairie romance wasn’t like that at all. I thank Brit and Emory for a terrific acting.

And then episode eight happened and it ruined everything for me.

Sure, a series that raises questions – any type of entertainment really – is very welcomed, but I disliked that whole “let’s-put-a-shooting-just-because”. It came out of nowhere. Why would they put something so serious and, unfortunately, reocurring in USA like it was nothing? They treated the shooting like some usual and everyday thing that happens. The fact thet I ended up not knowing why Prairie was on that bridge and jumped didn’t sit well with me. Adding that to the fact that we end up knowing that Prairie could very possible made up everything (I actually loved this part – it made all the “errors” with Hap make sense and added a new type of personality to Prairie that, maybe she was mentally unstable after all and who knows, maybe the drugs when she was a child made it worse) thanks to Alfonso (why was that FBI counseler there anyway?!) which raised even more questions (like “Why was she on that bridge?” “What did truly happened in those seven years?” “How come she got her view back?”) made me get mixed feelings. I loved the new intrigue (hey! maybe she was crazy after all!) but I hated the questions it raised. I have to admit though, that Prairie did change those five lives – in a good way. Betty started to care about herself, Steve stopped being a bully, Alfonso probably is putting his life and intentions in first place, Jesse can show his feelings at ease and Buck is more confident in his own body  (another side note- I loved the fact Ian is a transgender, not some actor that pretends to be one. Our media has had enough of that – I have an enough of that. If you are picturing a transgender kid, please cast a transgender kid. It’s not hard and they all need that representation). I adored the whole “Find your true selves – your invisible selves, the one who you all truly are, not what you show” theme. I hated the whole “We are going to raise more questions in the ending just because”(I had enough of that with Lost).

Overall, I enjoyed the series. I did. I recommend everyone to see it, even just for the five relationship. I just think it is too overrated – Brit and Zal tried to pass it out as deeper as it actually is with that ending. It was fine until then and they probably could have pulled it off pretty well. But the ending ruined it for me. Either way, go check it out. Perhaps you will have another view and opinion from my own.

Leave a Reply

