cruelty free · make up

Make up Starter Kit – Cruelty Free and Affordable

Following my search for cruelty-free products and ones that are in my home country, I found three main companies: “Kiko”, “Wycon” and “Quem disse berenice?”. I have also included Primark for three reasons: they don’t sell on China (a big pointer if they are or not cruelty-free, since China requires by law mandatory animal testing), they are a Europe-based company and all the products I have adcquired are either made in some European country or are obligated to fulfill the European laws.

So I tried to create a very basic and affordable Make Up Starter Kit (which has tried its hardest to be Cruelty-Free).

Depending on the understanding of the expression “Make Up Basic Kit” (each person depends on different things) I want to say that this basic kit is what is to me a basic kit.

  • Eyeliner

img_20161215_203341

The first eyeliner is the “Felt Tip Eyeliner” from Primark. It’s only 2€ and it has a very good precision, with the add that it runs smoothly and can make good lines. I am still not sure how long it will last but it doesn’t stains the upper eyelid.

 

The second is the “Automatic Eyeliner” from Wycon. It’s 4.90€, a good bargain considering that the Kiko equivalent and other brands are, at least, 7,90€. It has it’s advantage: don’t neet to sharpen everything. It also has a good texture, really nice, it can draw the lines very nicely but it has the downside that it doesn’t allow a very precise line drawing.

 

  • Eyeshadow

img_20161215_195717

Eyeshadow is something that I am very picky. Not every tone is good for me (like blue or orange or green) so I prefer the most neutral, nude and warm tones, like peach or light pink.

Kiko has very good choices – the ones pictured above and below are just 2,50€ each and belong to the “Smart Colour Eyeshadow” – they don’t have the upper-high quality that the new “High Pigment Wet and Dry Eyeshadow” have (which I will admit are nice but I didn’t like the colours and even less the price -8,90€ for each).

img_20161215_203500

Even if you are going for a simple, basic look, eyeshadow is really good for defining and brightning the eye, so I would advise having at least a simple, nude colour.

I wanted to show you how the colours look in my skin (it’s not very visible bit I hope you have a good idea).

  • Foundation, Primer and Concealer

img_20161215_200131

I don’t think primers, foundations and concealer’s are completely necessary in a day to day. But they are useful, especially since primers are becoming a very good addiction to make up (they not only make a good, healthy base for the make up, they also help balance the natural oils of the skin, making oily skins less oily and moisturisers the skin).

All of these are from Primark and I can’t complain on either of them. They do what they are supposed to do at a fair price. The “Mattifying Primer” is 5€, the “Flawless Face Liquid Foundation” 3,50€ and the “Stick  Concealer” was 3,00€. All put together, considering the handy they are in nowadays, are a good investment.

  • Lipstick

dsc00845

Ah, lipstick. Many don’t desire it, many desire it too much. I have tried a matte lipstick two years ago and it dries my lips so much that it is ridiculous. I am wearing a lip balm (one that I found out that it belongs to Johnson&Johnson, so I need to find a better lip balm ASAP!) because of all the damage that matte lipstick has made to my lips. So I searched for a good, creamy feel.

“quem disse berenice?” is a brand from Brasil that has promised to be cruelty-free, even in Brasil, which is right away a good start. These liptsticks are 4,90€, a price that I accept considering their quality and colour (which I love very much by the way!). They don’t last very long according to the lady (which I don’t mind – I don’t want to have lipstick for 12h or something like that) and what I have tried of them, they are really good and hold up really well.

Final points/Conclusion

  • Basic Make Up Starter Kit 1:
    • Automatic Eyeliner from Wycon  – 4,90€/ Felt Tip Eyeliner from Primark 2,00€
    • Smart Colour Eyeshadow from Kiko – 2,50€
    • quem disse berenice? Lipstick – 4,90€
    • Total – 12,30€ (if Wycon eyeliner is chosen)/ 9,40€ (if Primark eyeliner is chosen
  • Basic Make Up Starter Kit 2:
    • Automatic Eyeliner from Wycon  – 4,90€/ Felt Tip Eyeliner from Primark 2,00€
    • Smart Colour Eyeshadow from Kiko – 2,50€
    • Flawless Face Liquid Foundation -3,50€
    • Total – 10,90€ (if Wycon eyeliner is chosen)/ 8€ (if Primark eyeliner is chosen)
  • Basic Make Up Starter Kit 3:
    • Automatic Eyeliner from Wycon  – 4,90€/ Felt Tip Eyeliner from Primark 2,00€
    • Smart Colour Eyeshadow from Kiko – 2,50€
    • “Flawless Face Liquid Foundation” from Primark -3,50€
    • Lipstick from “quem disse berenice?”-4,90€
    • Total – 15,80€ (if Wycon eyeliner is chosen)/ 12,90€ (if Primark eyeliner is chosen)
  • Basic Make Up Starter Kit 4:
    • Automatic Eyeliner from Wycon  – 4,90€/ Felt Tip Eyeliner from Primark 2,00€
    • Smart Colour Eyeshadow from Kiko – 2,50€
    • Flawless Face Liquid Foundation  from Primark-3,50€
    • Lipstick from “quem disse berenice?”-4,90€
    • Mattifying Primer from Primark – 5€
    • Total – 20,80€ (if Wycon eyeliner is chosen)/ 17,90€ (if Primark eyeliner is chosen)

I honestly hope that this has helped you all in some way!

I also want to add that I will want to add a blusher and a mascara but first, I will have to find one that meets my criteria.

Leave a Reply

